JEC Racing – Brands Hatch – 6th May 2013

JEC Racing – Brands Hatch – Monday 6th May 2013

Race 2

Report by Terry Dye and Roger Gage

Pictures by Roger Gage

The Classic Sports Car Club kindly extended the race by five minutes to compensate for the previously truncated race, with new drivers Simon Lewis and Simon Seath starting from the back, having had to qualify out of session.
(picture – Cliff Ryan)
David Howard (left) again stretched the field to win from James Ramm and Richard Dorlin whilst behind them a train of cars battled for fourth place. Initially Roger Webster, in a strong drive, led this group until a nudge on Graham Hill Bend dislodged his front spoiler and set him back. Then Colin Philpott led the group, only to spin but then recover to beat Cliff Ryan and Tom Lenthall over the line.
The following group of Gail Hill (right of picture), Lewis (who had started last) Guy Connew and Derek Pearce exchanged places regularly until the Pearce MKII took to the gravel at Paddock, spun across the track and was unable to re-start the engine. Brilliant evasive action by Connew and Lewis avoided a bigger incident.
Simon Seath was not so lucky, coming upon the Olson car as it unexpectedly re-emerged from the gravel trap and across the track at the bottom of Paddock. Left with nowhere to go, the ensuing collision meant red flags and the end of the race.
(The drop and adverse camber of Paddock.)
Barclay was unlucky to sacrifice a class win on lap 12 with a blown engine. Chris Pizzala (left) took a fine class A win from Laurence Squires and Simon Blunt who had their own, very exciting private battles.
Drive of the Day was won by Simon Lewis (seen here on the right) for a fine drive through the field.

                                                     Jay Olson (sponsored by Just XJS) left the race in spectacular fashion
……always remember, it’s “mirror, signal, manoeuvre!”


Results First Second Third
Overall David Howard James Ramm Richard Dorlin
Class A Chris Pizzala Laurence Squires Simon Blunt
Class B Gail Hill Simon Lewis Guy Connew
Class C James Ramm Chris Palmer Colin Philpott
Class D David Howard Richard Dorlin Cliff Ryan

All information correct at time of publishing.


JEC Racing

To receive all future updates on Jaguar related news and events as they arrive, please subscribe to Xclusively Jaguar News using the Newsletter Sign Up facility in the top right hand corner of the page. Subscription is free of charge with an opt out facility.