JEC Racing – Snetterton – 13th April 2013

JEC Racing – Jaguar Classic Parts Saloon & GT Championship

Snetterton – 13th April2013

Report by Terry Dye and Roger Gage.

Pictures by Chris, Nick and Roger Gage

David Howard, pole position!
A good field of twenty-three drivers including four new entrants assembled at Snetterton for this first round of the Jaguar Classic Parts Saloon & GT Championship. After a dry, bright qualifying session, pole position went to David Howard’s XJ12 from the Palmer XJS, although a number of other cars suffered and were to need attention before the race.

As the race started so did the rain, which, on top of the fluids deposited from previous races, meant a clean start was very difficult. The drivers handled the conditions superbly, Palmer off the line first as Howard went backwards to seventh before starting a recovery drive. Howard and Palmer plus Lawrence Coppock’s V12 then traded places throughout the race ending with a tremendous three-a-breast finish. Fine drives by James Ramm and Rodney Frost were rewarded by 4th and 5th respectively.

Simon Seath – almost a winner!
Comer stormed through from last to dice with 2 other class A (standard) cars of Simon Seath and Chris Pizzala before a slight misjudgement by Seath cost him the class win. Tom Butterfield climbed from 17th in practice to 10th, a fine drive while class B was won by a very quick Tom Barclay. Simon Lewis, after qualifying a fine fifth, was penalised for a jumped start.

Colin Philpott, “Drive of the Day”
Colin Philpott won ‘Drive of the Day’ in the beautifully prepared XJS whilst the newer drivers, Jay Olsen, Laurence Squires and Simon Blunt, all acquitted themselves well in very difficult conditions. Matt Jeffery handled the big Lister XJ40 well in these difficult conditions whilst Richard Dorlin (XJ6 Coupe), Chris Boon (XJR) and Tom Lenthall (XJS) were covered by a single second.


Results First Second Third
Overall David Howard Chris Palmer Lawrence Coppock
Class A Philip Comer Chris Pizzala Simon Seath
Class B Tom Barclay Gail Hill Matt Jeffery
Class C Chris Palmer James Ramm Rodney Frost
Class D David Howard Lawrence Coppock Richard Dorlin


All information correct at time of publishing.


JEC Racing

To receive all future updates on Jaguar related news and events as they arrive, please subscribe to Xclusively Jaguar News using the Newsletter Sign Up facility in the top right hand corner of the page. Subscription is free of charge with an opt out facility.