Jaguar (JEC) Racing – Silverstone – 10th May 2014

Classic Spares/Toyo Tires Jaguar Saloon & GT Championship

Report by Roger Gage

Pictures by Nick Gage and Roger Gage


Matt Jeffery made full use of his rebuilt Lister XJ40 taking 1st in class and “Driver Of The Day”

In contrast to a rather adverse weather prediction, the Jaguars enjoyed a dry qualifying session and even started their race with the sun glinting on chrome and paintwork.

The start was hectic, as Sam Clarke led from pole with James Ramm up from fourth to second and David Howard holding on to his third place qualifying position. Simon Lewis surrendered his brilliant qualifying second place to end the lap in fifth, despite (or perhaps because of) a jumped start that was to earn him a five second penalty and ultimately cost him a class win.

Patrick Doyle’s car suffered problems in the morning session and in the race he quickly made ground from tenth to fourth place, although it was not to last and he retired the car in a cloud of smoke after just five laps, whilst Tom Lenthall shot off the line to join the lead pack, only to spin to the back of the field on the first lap and spend the rest of the race trying to regain his start position.

In class A, Philip Comer made a poor start and was making up places when he tangled with Alisdair McGregor at Brooklands. In class B Matt Jeffery was making full use of his re-built Lister XJ6 and after several laps of close contest, won a tremendous battle with Kevin Doyle to take first in class and win the “Driver Of The Day” award.

There were other contests throughout the field, one between Jay Olson and Paul Merrett before the latter retired, and in particular a race long duel between Howard Kirkham and Simon Blunt.

Meanwhile, up at the front, Sam Clarke and David Howard provided an exciting spectacle as they swapped places several times through the race, with David emerging from Luffield on the last lap just ahead to win by a whisker.

Jay Olsen returned to do battle, after a catastrophic exit at the end of last season!


Results First Second Third
Overall David Howard Sam Clarke James Ramm
Class A Philip Comer Laurence Squires Simon Blunt
Class B Matt Jeffery Simon Lewis Kevin Doyle
Class C Sam Clarke James Ramm Tom Lenthall
Class D David Howard    

Drive of the Day: Matt Jeffery


JEC Racing

To receive all future updates on Jaguar related news and events as they arrive, please subscribe to Xclusively Jaguar News using the Newsletter Sign Up facility in the top right hand corner of the page. Subscription is free of charge with an opt out facility.

All information correct at time of publishing.