Jaguar (JEC) Racing – Snetterton- 12th April 2014

Classic Spares/Toyo Tires Jaguar Saloon & GT Championship – Round 1

Report by Roger Gage

Pictures by Nick Gage and Roger Gage

The race featured a rolling start which can ease bottlenecks at the first few corners!

Drivers must have been hard at work during the winter as an excellent twenty eight well prepared Jaguars entered. Saturday was dry but with the usual Snetterton cold wind. 15 minutes qualifying was barely sufficient for 6 laps on this 2.9 mile circuit.

An outstanding qualifying by Sam Clarke Jr annexed pole in only his 4th race, leading James Ramm (XJS) & David Howard (XJ12). Simon Lewis headed Class B whilst Class A (standard) was lead by Alasdair McGregor’s X300, five seconds ahead of Laurence Squires’ XJS.

The race featured a rolling start which can ease bottlenecks at the first few corners, allowing the Howard XJ12 to dive into an immediate lead which he was not to relinquish for the whole race. A frantic battle between Ramm & Clarke (XJS) was finally resolved when Clarke passed on lap six. There were tussles aplenty throughout the race & McGregor, in a Class A standard car, was an excellent 9th overall, nine seconds ahead of Ben Walker’s XJS. Simon Lewis (XJ6) was in fine form all weekend, taking Class B from Chris Pizzala’s newly acquired XJ6. A simple thing like loose plug leads sidelined Pearce(MKII) & Sewell (XJ6) whilst Crossley suffered fuel starvation & Doyle a more serious head gasket failure. Despite their own car being sidelined, Marcus Barclay stayed all weekend to undertake a head gasket change so Doyle could race on Sunday. Chris Palmer suffered engine failure &, in the nature of great club racing, Chris Boon generously loaned him the Cov Cats XJ40. The new drivers, Adam Powderham (XJR) & Ed Foster (later model S Type) competed very well in their immaculately turned our cars.

New driver, Ed Foster (later model S Type), competed very well in his immaculately turned our car!


Results First Second Third
Overall David Howard Sam Clarke Jr James Ramm
Class A Alasdair McGregor Ben Walker Laurence Squires
Class B Simon Lewis Chris Pizzala Howard Kirkham
Class C James Ramm Colin Philpott Tom Lenthall
Class D David Howard Sam Clarke Jr Lawrence Coppock

Drive of the Day: Sam Clarke


JEC Racing

To receive all future updates on Jaguar related news and events as they arrive, please subscribe to Xclusively Jaguar News using the Newsletter Sign Up facility in the top right hand corner of the page. Subscription is free of charge with an opt out facility.

All information correct at time of publishing.